For anyone who is described as ‘lactose intolerant’ this means you lack the enzyme ‘lactase’ needed to break down milk sugars, or ‘lactose’. People who are lactose intolerant often get bloating, indigestion and diarrhea when drinking and eating milk products. Different digestive illnesses which cause a generalized reduction of digestive enzymes can also lead to the development food intolerance’s including dairy. hemp milk nutrition
In case you are Lactose Intolerant, Steer clear of the Following Foods
Food which contain lactose which must be avoided include: milk, cream, butter, dairy products, fromage frais, ice cream, milk powder, condensed dairy, buttermilk, custard, most margarine. Some biscuits, cakes, bakery (and mixes), sauces, soups, dressings, sausages, luncheon meat, tea/coffee whiteners, malt refreshments, chocolate. Avoid any manufactured foods, including tins, which contain solids derived from milk, skimmed dairy, milk proteins, non-fat dairy – these are generally all dairy products. Unfortunately goat’s and sheep’s products contain lactose too.
What is a Milk Allergy?
A dairy allergy is different from being lactose intolerant. That means your immunity process is not tolerant of certain healthy proteins found in milk products-it is nothing to do with missing digestive nutrients. These proteins are called allergens if a person reacts to them; the commonest one in dairy and milk products is called casein. Common symptoms are digestive problems, catarrh, skin rashes, lethargy, frustration, blocked nose, sinus problems and excessive mucous development.
Foods for People who are Lactose Intolerant
um If you are lactose intolerant you may well be able to tolerate fermented cow dairy products products such as natural yoghurts, cottage cheese or lassi (Indian yogurt drink). This kind of is because they contain ‘friendly’ bacteria which break down lactose – saving you the trouble.
o A small amount of organic and natural butter can be tolerated well by many who are lactose intolerant.
o Lactose intolerant people usually can also tolerate micro-filtered designer whey and whey protein separate products because the lactose has been filtered away.
o Other dairy alternatives which is often used include Soya produce, Tofu, nuts milk substitutes, rice and coconut milk products.
Unfortunately sheep’s and goat’s products contain lactose so need to be averted.
What you have avoid if Milk Intolerant?
If you have a milk allergy or intolerance you need to avoid all the foods labeled as containing lactose above as well as all butter, yogurt, cottage mozzarella cheese, lassi, whey and designer whey related products. Goat’s and sheep’s products however are OK as they contain only trace numbers of casein.